Nearly One Year Later….

So it’s been nearly a year since my last post. What happened? Nothing and everything. Life just got in the way of life. I won’t bore you with a complete play by play but will give you the significant updates…..

As you know I moved to the city last Summer, 4 hours away from the small town I had lived my entire life and from my family. My hopes were high that myself and my boys would love it there, make lots of new friends, and start over from scratch- new place, new life. Unfortunately I may have built my hopes too high and things did not work out as well, particularly with my youngest son, then 12 year old Kaleb. He hated it there as soon as the school year started, to the point where he was physically sick each morning when it was time to go to school, had endless tummy aches which sent us to the ER a couple of times, and was beginning to experience a lot of anxiety. My oldest son, then 17 year old Keenan, loved it there but had fallen in with the wrong crowd and was skipping school and getting bad grades, and although he was not involved in them himself, he was hanging out with kids who were into drugs. As for me, I was torn, but my December had made the decision to move myself and the kids back home. Kaleb was elated, Keenan was furious, and I was simply tired. By Christmas we were back home and staying with my parents until we found an apartment early in the new year. Which is where I am now, 7 months later. 

This past June marked a milestone in my son Keenan’s life, and my own. He graduated from high school and immediately moved back into the city, much to my dismay. He is staying with his girlfriend’s family for now until they can afford their own place. I miss him terribly and the day that I dropped him off and left him there was one of the worst days of my life. My belief was that the hardest kind of letting go I would ever experience was that of my failing marriage. I was wrong. Very very wrong. I’m not ready yet, but he is, and it’s something I struggle with every day. 

June also marked another milestone in my life, one that I thought would be more eventful but in reality it was anything but. My divorce was final on June 26th. The certificate arrived in the mail shortly thereafter and while I was sad for a few moments as I looked it over, it quickly passed. It was a long time coming and I am thankful for the closure. 

So here’s where I’m at now- newly divorced, half empty nester,well controlled  bipolar mom to a teenager and a young man, currently unemployed but beginning to feel ready to return to work, and still crafting regularly. Speaking of which, I have LOTS to share so keep an eye out for future posts! 

Leave a Reply

